Past Winner

2022 Jim Johnson Scholarship
Ayden Baugh


The 2022 Jim Johnson scholarship was awarded to Ayden Baugh from Spearville, KS.

Ayden attended Spearville High school and is currently attending KU as an Atmospheric Science major.


The scholarship was established to honor Jim Johnson, of the key individuals who helped start the High Plains AMS/NWA chapter in 1996. Jim’s career spanned several decades, first with the U.S. Air Force, and then with the National Weather Service (NWS). Jim retired as a NWS Lead Forecaster from the Dodge City, Kansas office in September 2006.